Harrassment, Intimidation & Bullying

Maple Shade School District Harassment, Intimidation, and Bullying Policy - CLICK TO VIEW

The differences between HIB, Bullying, Conflict, and Inappropriate Behavior

District Anti-Bullying Coordinator

Wanda Pichardo, Director of School Counseling  x1216; wpichardo@msemail.org

Maple Shade High School (856) 779-2880

Anti-Bullying Specialist: Diana Betz, School Counselor x1218; dbetz@msemail.org
Anti-Bullying Specialist: Kim Kelly, School Counselor x1217; kkelly@msemail.org
Anti-Bullying Specialist: Nicholas Torno, School Counselor x1287; ntorno@msemail.org
Anti-Bullying Specialist: Agnes Lobley, School Counselor x1274; alobley@msemail.org

Steinhauer Elementary (856) 779-7323

Anti-Bullying Specialist: Sam Budesa, School Counselor; sbudesa@msemail.org

Wilkins Elementary (856) 779-7334

Anti-Bullying Specialist: Kelly Stokes, School Counselor; kstokes@msemail.org

Yocum Elementary (856) 779-7423

Anti-Bullying Specialist: Carol Gheysens, School Counselor; cgheysens@msemail.org

*All school administrators also serve as anti-bullying specialists.


Bullying Information and Prevention Links

Parent Guide to the Anti-Bullying Bill of Rights:  Click here to view

For more bullying information and prevention links, please click here.

http://www.facebook.com/help/parents- Students must be 13 years of age or older to create a Facebook Account. If your child is under 13, parents have the right to request access to the account or to request the account be deleted.

http://www.olweus.org/public/bullied_child.page- Olweus Parent Prevention Program; lots of resources and tips for parents.

http://www.cyberbullyhelp.com- Cyberbullying information and assistance.

http://www.stopbullying.gov- Government website with lots of HIB resources for parents and students.

http://www.thetrevorproject.org- Suicide prevention and support for LGBTQ youth. HOTLINE: 1-866-488-7386

www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org- National Suicide Prevention information. HOTLINE: 1-800-273-8255.

www.cyberbullying.org- Parent information and handouts about Cyberbullying 


Maple Shade Schools Anti-Bullying Self-Assessment/Grades

School Self-Assessment for Determining Grades under the Anti-Bullying Bill of Rights - CLICK TO VIEW

Beginning with the 2011-2012 school year, Maple Shade School District has conscientiously implemented the requirements of New Jersey’s Anti-Bullying Bill of Rights Act.  School climate and character education are always in the forefront of our minds as we plan curricula and school events.  We continue to look for ways to teach students the value of respect, the need to look out for each other, and the responsibility of their actions, both in real life and in their digital lives.

While completing the ABR Self-Assessment, we learned that our school district and our schools have demonstrated strengths in some areas and look to improve in others. We are committed to creating the best environment for children we can, and we always appreciate your support.

Each school’s Anti Bullying/HIB grade is a raw score of data and the sum of the ratings for all indicators within each core element on the School Self-Assessment (e.g., 65 of 78 points). The maximum total score for a school is 78 points. The school district’s grade is an average of the total scores of all schools in the school district. The New Jersey Department of Education does not issue letter grades.

In addition, the Department is not issuing any associated value or ranking for the raw and average scores. The raw and average scores reflect the school and school district’s degree of compliance with the Anti-Bullying Bill of Rights Act (ABR), as determined primarily through each school’s self-assessment of its implementation of the ABR.

The Self-Assessment tool includes eight core elements which address all of the ABR requirements for schools:

1. HIB Programs, Approaches or Other Initiatives
2. Training on the BOE-approved HIB Policy
3. Other Staff Instruction and Training Programs
4. Curriculum and Instruction on HIB and Related Information and Skills
5. HIB Personnel
6. School-Level HIB Incident Reporting Procedure
7. HIB Investigation Procedure
8. HIB Reporting

A point value was assigned to each indicator based on the selected rating category as follows:

  • Does not meet the requirements – 0 points 
  • Partially meets the requirements – 1 point 
  • Meets all requirements – 2 points 
  • Exceeds the requirements – 3 points

With this system, the goal isn’t necessarily to get a “perfect” score, but to highlight areas where we can improve. A school that gets Meets all Requirements, in a 5-question element for example, would score a 10 out of a maximum of 15 points.